

Newsletter 10/23

Fachgruppe
Biologie und
Biotechnologie
der Pilze

Newsletter - VAAM Focus Group Biology and Biotechnology of Fungi

Dear colleagues and members of the Focus Group (FG),

first of all, we want to thank you for the re-election of us as speaker-team and for your support in keeping our FG alive and growing. The online poll took place in March until mid-April and many of you participated. We received an unanimous vote for the re-election of the speaker team and, more importantly, for the continuation of our VAAM FG.

In the meantime, quite a few things happened that we would like to share with you. For once we decided to publish a statement in Biospektrum (05/30) inviting all members of the previous VAAM FG "Hefen" to find a new home in the VAAM within our FG. We already noted that several new members joined the group and express a warm welcome to all those! We are looking forward to share our events with you and grow our community together!

In September, the annual VAAM conference took place in Göttingen. Besides wonderful fungal plenary lectures by *Liz Ballou*, Exeter, UK; *Markus Künzler*, ETH *and Vera Meyer*, TU Berlin and short talks in concurrent sessions, our FG was represented and active by organizing a very successful **Mini-Symposium**. We want to thank all participants, speakers and especially **the organizers** and chairs **Slavica Janevska** (HKI Jena) and **Florian Altegoer** (HHU Düsseldorf), who did a superb job in lining up a diverse and highly interesting set of talks. More information and a short report on the symposium will follow in the upcoming issue of the Biospektrum (07/23).

Section "Good News for Fungal Research"

Again we are happy to share some good news with you. We congratulate **Regine Kahmann**, who is siding Nobel laureate Emmanuelle Charpentier and Erin Schuman in being induced into the **American Academy of Arts & Sciences** (LINK).

Section "Noteworthy & Miscellaneous"

1. We would like to draw your attention to the upcoming **election** of the **DFG-Fachkollegien**. Votes can be handed in at the DFG **from October 23rd to November 20th**. We provide here a list of candidates being members of our FG and would encourage you to support them, so that they can support fungal research within the DFG panels.



Newsletter 10/23

Fachgruppe
Biologie und
Biotechnologie
der Pilze

FG-members serving as candidates:

Gerhard Braus (Göttingen) Allgemeine Genetik
Michael Feldbrügge (Düsseldorf) Mikrobiologie
Natalia Requena (Karlsruhe) Organismische Interaktionen
Eva Stukenbrock (Kiel) Organismische Interaktionen

In case we have missed any candidates from within our FG, please let us know and we will update the list!

2. We finally have a **logo for our FG**, representing the major fungal morphologies our community is working with! Please enjoy it here, and soon on also on the VAAM page of our FG!

We thank Valentina Arros, a young and very talented student from TUM, who is aspiring a career in illustration and visual communication of natural sciences. In case you are interested in graphical support, check out her portfolio here: https://bit.ly/45AxJFs.





Section "Upcoming conferences"

- 32nd Fungal Genetics Conference, Pacific Grove
 - o 12. 17.03.2023
 - o registration starts at October, 20th 2023
 - o https://genetics-gsa.org/fungal-2024/
- Molecular Biology of Fungi
 - o 11. 13.09.2024
 - o see attached flyer



Newsletter 10/23

Fachgruppe
Biologie und
Biotechnologie
der Pilze

11th - 13th September 2024, Christian-Albrechts-Universität







Molecular Biology of Fungi 2024

15th Symposium of the VAAM Special Group 'Biology and Biotechnology of Fungi'

3rd Joint Meeting with the GeneAG 'Fungal Genetics' of the German Genetics Society

Date 11.-13. September 2024

Venue CAP3, Kiel University

Organization Prof. Dr. Frank Kempken (Universität zu Kiel)

Prof. Dr. Philipp Benz (TU München)

Prof. Dr. Matthias Hahn (RPTU Kaiserslautern) Prof. Dr. Kai Heimel (Universität Göttingen)

Prof. Dr. Stefanie Pöggeler (Universität Göttingen)

Local Team Dr. Stefanie Grüttner, Dr. Krisztina Kollath-Leiß

Confirmed Keynote Speakers: Sonja Billerbeck, Daniel Croll, George Diallinas, Luis Javier Galindo, Joe Heitman, Yen-Ping Hsueh

